Let your anger fuel your run

So hey, work sucks lately!  But you know what’s great about that?  You run much faster when you’re good and pissed off.  Amy and I have tapped in to Kara Goucher reserves we never knew we had, just for this reason.

Oh sure, it’s not just work.  It’s taking your kid to the pediatrician only to find that a) they are not contracted with your new insurance (translation: hope you brought your checkbook!), and b) the lump behind your child’s ear lobe that she has been complaining of for weeks is actually cellulitis (translation: in the words of my charming sister, “ew, dirty people get cellulitis!”), AND THEN c) the 10 day course of antibiotics doesn’t work and….well, you get the point.  It’s been an expensive week in my house, complicated by the sheer volume of first grade homework and the bottomless depths of first grader attitude.  Work has just been the bullshit icing on the cake, really.

But I’m writing this to force myself to look on the bright side.  The lump on the child’s ear lobe isn’t cancer.  I am healthy enough to pour myself in to my running shoes and pound out my frustration on the pavement.  I have many things to be thankful for, and I’ve listed them out for you here:

1.  I wear Danskos to work.  Nurses aren’t allowed to wear shoelaces, the risk of suicide by hanging is too high.  Bonus:  sprayed bodily fluids wipe nicely from the Dansko surface.

2.  A good hot shower will likely scour all the sprayed poop off your body even if you feel like your soul will never be clean again.

3.  This is the best one!  Say you normally run a 10 minute mile by yourself, closer to an 11 minute mile with your BRF on a particularly chatty day.  (Side note:  all days are particularly chatty.  We never shut up.)  Lingering anger from a shitty day at work will allow you to shave 1-2 minutes off your time!  Last Thursday we did 3 miles at a 9:20 pace.  Ditto for today, except Paul came along because I’m pretty sure he was craving a nice leisurely jog through the park with his two slow friends.  Poor guy.

4.  Wait.  No, this one is way better.  Today is the only day I have ever out run Paul.  It will likely never happen again.  So I’m taking it.

2 thoughts on “Let your anger fuel your run

  1. I hate it when insurance changes. Our doctor just moved to the clinic we used to go to when the oldest kids were babies but its 40 minutes away so now I have to find a new doctor closer that takes our insurance because driving 40 minutes when a kid is sick is like driving 1000 miles. Our insurance used to be really good but now pretty much blows… maybe I should take up running 😉

  2. Insurance sucks! I’ve been looking for a mental health counselor for Will for some time now and my insurance only has sixteen in their network. Guess who isn’t taking new patients or even bothering to answer/return their calls?? Meanwhile the place right down the street doesn’t take my insurance (which is a big insurance company, natch) yet has PLENTY of openings. ugh.

    Oh and I love danskos! I’m not wiping bodily fluids off mine but I find them to be really supportive with my crappy feet.

    Keep running, dear. And I’ll keep knitting until the funk passes.

Leave a Reply

