9.5 in the rain

How to know you need to run off a few extra Thanksgiving inches: it’s post-Thanksgiving feast time in your sister’s living room, and you are getting in some snuggles on the couch with your daughter and your niece.  Your niece pats your tummy, looks at you sweetly, and asks “Auntie, do you have a baby in your tummy?”  Your daughter fills in your amused/horrified silence by answering “no, and she never will again”.

So when Amy asked if I wanted to run the day after Thanksgiving, I agreed, despite having to get creative in finding someone to watch the kiddo and the fact that outside offered a bone-chilling heavy mist.

We chose the out-and-back route of the Orting Trail, I think because we are both growing weary of the loop from my house and the loop from Amy’s.  I’m not a huge fan of out-and-back, but mixing up the scenery is one of the biggest challenges in running.  The ‘out’ portion wasn’t bad…4.75 miles of drizzle, but I could still see out of my glasses and my ear warmer came off before we reached the turnaround point.  The ‘and-back’ portion, though?  I swear, I think God was watching us and merely waiting for us to turn around, so he could dial up the weather a few notches.  By mile 7.5, I was carrying my glasses (no point in wearing them when the heavy rain coats them every few seconds) and the soaked front of my running pants made me feel like I was running with weights strapped to my legs.  We both stripped from the waist up as soon as we got back to the parking lot (no worries about flashing anyone, as we were the only idiots out in this weather) and put on dry shirts (our one smart move of the day), then headed immediately for Starbucks.  Amy asked, as we pulled in to the parking lot, “go in?  Drive thru?”  Ha.  Drive thru.  Let’s not frighten the other patrons who were smart enough to stay indoors today.

Hot chocolate in hand, I headed out to pick up Zoey from a playdate at her friend’s house.  Thankfully, she didn’t give me much grief about leaving as I stood, teeth chattering, waiting for her to get in the car.  And the hot shower that was just waiting for me to walk in the door??  Totally made the 9.5 miles worth it.

But I think I have a few more workouts to tackle this weekend, in a continued effort to ditch the flabby tummy.  Time to go find another babysitter!

One thought on “9.5 in the rain

Leave a Reply

