Another Tuesday, hopefully not another meltdown…

Some of you might be wondering how Zoey did at her second swim lesson last week with the dreaded Coach Michael.

Things were better.  Not great, but better.  Funny enough, I could practically feel Coach Michael AND Zoey sizing each other up as we walked out on the pool deck…to be fair, this coach looks like he might be roughly 16, with limited experience in turning crying children in to strong swimmers.  On the other hand, kids at this stage of the game rarely have meltdowns seen more often in the lower classes.  When you start out as a Pike, I believe the only goal you need to accomplish before moving on to the next level is to get in the water (and stay there) without crying.  We seem to have hit a little regression at the Starfish level.  And by ‘we’, I mean ‘only my child’.

Anyway.

It was Thursday.  I was armed with great feedback from you guys following my blog post on Tuesday.  Before we even left for the Y, I asked Zoey to list all the things she thought were similar and different about Coach Hailey and Coach Michael.  We talked about how the lesson would go, step by step…she was going to go calmly with her class, I would wait patiently nearby witout sitting down in the comfy chairs just calling my name beyond the glass window…I remained calm and patient as I insisted that yes, she WOULD get in the pool, and yes she WOULD stick it out at this swim session.

So we get to the pool deck at 6:20 and, like I said, Coach Michael is already warily eyeing Zoey as she immediately clings to my arm.  I remind her how much fun she’ll have as I shower both her and my arm and walk towards the pool.  There is whining, and a little fuss but thankfully no tears.  And then…she gets in the pool with her kick board and she’s fine.

But damn, all I wanted to do was go sit down!

So we’ll see how things go tonight.  As she drifted off to sleep last night, Zoey whispered to me “Mommy, will Coach Hailey be back at the Y for swimming tomorrow?”

Poor bug.  We’ve got four more weeks with Coach Michael and I may need to start bringing a folding chair to park on the pool deck.

One thought on “Another Tuesday, hopefully not another meltdown…

Leave a Reply

